In praise of those passed…

Thomas Nozkowski Studio after his death…photo: Gabrielle Bhaskar, NYT

As one ages time does accelerate – my mother told me this years back but I didn’t believe her – I do now! So it’s hard to believe that one of my absolute faves of all time passed five years back…it seems to me only a few months back. But Thomas Nozkowski passed back on 9th May 2019. Although Thomas was only a generation older I adored his work and rather immodestly saw him as something of a fellow traveller. I am especially taken with the idea of original visual language for every picture made – its certainly my attempted MO when making those small paintings in my mammoth Heart Of Rural England series (currently becalmed in the Pleasant Country Aspect group (aka Harborough district). Although I suspect I often fail (as did Tom very very occasionally!).

David Manley Illston, Pleasant Country Aspect, Oil on board, 30 x 40 cms. 2024

I’m thinking of this whilst back in West Penwith tending to the wonderful Brisons Veor (although it will be a week or so back by the time of this post). My time here is limited, very much so, but precious. And being part of the project is very much so, not least as it facilitates others to experience its delights.

The marvel that is Brisons Veor, the last property on Cape Cornwall, with Priests Cove below it and the Atlantic beyond it!

And by a co-incidence today – 9th May is also the date of the passing of a very dear friend, one of my closest, back in 2006. Paul William Mason would have been 71 in a few weeks and he’s much missed. And to top it off today I got news of a professional colleague passing at far too young an age – Lucy Philips who was Director of Leicester Print Workshop whilst I was on the Board back in the last decade. Lucy was the brightest and best in a crowded field of great arts professionals I’ve worked with over the past fifty years.

Leave a comment