Pleasant Country Aspect…

Burton Overy, oil on canvas board, 30 x 40 cms. 2024

ok then…not so pleasant! But this is Burton Overy from my most recent collection of paintings in The Heart Of Rural England series (running for well over a decade now!). This group are of the locations in the Harborough district of Leicestershire that I’ve titled ‘Pleasant Country Aspect’ – a phrase from the 1974 handbook describing the authority. It uses as source images culled from the gargoyles on the church there and the, rather abject, parish noticeboard. Both widely jazzed up by yours truly! I’ve five of this group completed with seven more on the go – and another thirty one to be visited, snapped and envisioned before I can move onto Hinckley & Bosworth, and beyond that, Blaby and Oadby & Wigston. It’s going to be a close run thing as to whether (at current rate of progress) I’ll ever get it finished!

Leave a comment