Content…

img_0062

What constitutes content in abstraction will, I suspect, always evade us.  Damn good job too.  It is probably one of the handful of things that can sustain painting as an activity in the contemporary world.  Anyway this is a detail from a picture I’m working on now – and in my head it has something of a festive feel to it.  So I’m using it as my way to wish all a very contented yuletide.  I always struggled with Christmas as a youngster…I felt trapped by the shut down of ‘real life’…but now it seems to be a welcome (and all too brief) moment of calm in what seems now to be an increasingly sour and vulgar world.  I hope it gives all of you a sense of calm and contentment too…and comes with my very best wishes.

Leave a Reply

