IMG_8662

Alongside my painting practice I often take photographs though I rarely exhibit them here in the UK.  Although I have now studied the medium to post graduate level I still think of myself as a tyro though I’ve been using a camera since my early teens. Like several photographers I know and admire I have a few rituals associated with the camera activity.  One of these is my regular shooting of Stand 32.  Anglers will be familiar with these sites along our rivers.  Stand 32 was the site I chose some twenty years back to point the camera back along the river Soar towards Kegworth deep lock and on and off I’ve been doing so  ever since.

IMG_8657

Today was my first visit in quite a long time…in fact its twelve months to the day since I was last there – probably the longest gap in those twenty plus years.  Imagine my surprise then to find that a new numbering system has been introduced.  Stand 32 is now 61…so nothing in this life stands still for too long.

