I Worn My Elbows

I Worn My Elbows, Acrylic & Oil on Linen, each 10 x 10cm. 2013

Still struggling to shake off this damn cold – I just keep coughing and spluttering – and feeling under par so its hard to motivate oneself to get on with bigger work.  So I’ve been tidying up and updating the “I” series.  These have been knocking around my studio for years now.  I  sent two of the early ones off to Sweden back in 2012 for the ‘Supermarket’ fair and as luck would have it sold one (below) to an art dealer from Umea.

riot

I Predict A Riot, Acrylic & Oil on Linen, each 10 x 10 cm., 2011

Given the way they are arrived at one has to be careful not to ‘force’ the process or it all loses whatever freshness they might have…as it is they tend to slip out off the back of protracted working periods.  Not least as they seem to work out best when oil and acrylic get mixed up on them.  So as I’ve been working exclusively with acrylics (apart from a brief spell last summer in Italy) for over eighteen months there are several sitting around just waiting for the right slick of oil to see them off.

I Want You to Want Me

I Want You To Want Me, Oil & Acrylic on Linen, each 10 x 10 cm., 2014

As it happens for quite ‘other’ reasons I’ve been contemplating just such a move (back to oils) with what I’m hoping will be the next large series of pictures that I’m still working out at the moment.  Though its unlikely that I’ll be getting these properly underway until later in the year, with several other projects dominating my event horizons before then.  Coming up immediately is Salon 6 curated by Rachael Pinks…be nice to see you there if you can make it!

SALON 6

