What should a person consider when thinking about applying to Art School?

striph
Painting Studio, Falmouth School of Art, 1972

A couple weeks back Stephen B. MacInnis asked this question and posted some good, intelligent replies…I was supposed to answer it too…but typically though I did write something down never got around to posting it in time.  Well here it is…

Where do I feel most comfortable making art

Where do I feel most uncomfortable making art

Where can I see comfortable art

Where can I see uncomfortable art

Where will I be able to swing a cat

Where will I be able to swing several cats

Where will I find a ready supply of cheap mice

Where will I be able to skin a cat (or mice)    note: I do not advocate actually skinning livestock of any kind.

Who will I find to talk to me about art

Who will I find to listen to me talk about art

Who will have anything to say about art

Have I anything to say about art

Where is the nearest crafts (wo)man

Where is the nearest technician

Where is the nearest historian/theorist

Do they know what they think they know

Does this place have a good;

Canteen

Bar

Woodwork shop

Metalwork shop

Print shop

Maclab

Can you see paint peeling on the walls

Is there a healthy level of rubbish lying around the studios

Are the H&S notices half hidden or torn

Is this place lived in

Am I a bit wacky

Is the candidate next to me a bit wacky

Is the tutor interviewing me a bit wacky

Is the Head of Faculty a bit wacky

2 thoughts on “What should a person consider when thinking about applying to Art School?

Leave a Reply

