Coming Up Fast…

Invite

 

is the first of two abstract painting shows that are a part of my year of curation for Harrington Mill Studios.  I am very excited at the opportunity to put some of the very best artists working in non-figurative painting on display in our modest exhibition space.  Not least from the purely selfish point of view that I will be able to study them up close for several weeks!  One of the many joys of being able to mount these shows is to bring together work by artists I have met and in some cases know well with those I have admired but never yet had the pleasure of meeting.  It also gives me an opportunity to place a single work of mine from a particular point in my life as an artist in the company of artists that, in all honesty, I’d never have had the opportunity to do otherwise.

Alongside the show itself I am creating a small display made up of a few single works as a kind of ‘control group’ borrowing a bit of scientific jargon*.  In my control groups I am putting myself in some very elevated company indeed…but then again it’s my show so it’s only me to blame if I make a fool of myself.

I’m gradually gathering together information on the first show – entitled ‘The Discipline Of Painting’ here.  And in a week or two I’ll be fleshing out detail for ‘Painting Too’ the second of the shows on the 2013 Harrington Mill programme blog.

* A control group in a scientific experiment is a group separated from the rest of the experiment where the independent variable being tested cannot influence the results. This isolates the independent variable’s effects on the experiment and can help rule out alternate explanations of the experimental results.
Leave a Reply

