DDA06

 

When Luke Tarpey asked me to step into an up-coming slot in his programme (at the Tarpey Gallery) a couple weeks back I was hesitant – after all I was proceeding towards the next show of recent work (at Nottingham’s Lakeside Arts Centre Angear Gallery in November) at a leisurely and orderly pace.  However as an artist of what might euphemistically be called advancing years I have learnt never to look a gift horse in the mouth and take whatever opportunities come along.  So now I have just three weeks dead to put together a show (albeit of modest size) before we disappear to Italy for a summer holiday during which the exhibition will open (though we will be back for a PV on Saturday 27th July at 6pm to which of course all readers of this blog are cordially invited!).

But if I’m honest I rather like the looming deadline…the countdown to it has a wonderfully enervating impact on your decision making and resolution of pictures.  Things you’ve been mulling over and not getting round to doing suddenly have to be sorted…or else.  And other pictures that you just cannot see a way to resolve either get shoved to one side or radically butchered.  All in all very bracing even if a little bit scary.

