ImageImage

So there goes AN…  I bought every copy over the thirty two years and I still have most of them (a few seem to have gone astray from the early naughties).  What started as a very honest and useful cheaply printed information source stayed pretty close to its core objectives over the years…though over the past decade the quantity of intellectual b****hit was upped substantially (pretty common across the visual arts).  Perhaps inevitably the sheer economics meant that the paper copy had to go…but I doubt that the purely online service will last – after all it now competes with all the other myriad sources of information, commentary, blogs, ‘stuff’ thats out there…and nothing differentiates it – its hard to see how the brand loyalty is sustained in the virtual world.  I just hope I’m wrong but somehow I doubt it.

