Image

I’ve taken a closer look at Terry Greene‘s blog recently. Unless I’ve got it horribly wrong most of his recent paintings are quite small.  I also follow Stephen MacInnis and Andy Parkinson and over recent weeks have been examining students work at various art depts. in Universities here.  A lot of what I respond to nowadays is quite small.  When I was a student back in the mists of time of course everything had to be very big indeed.  And pictures of the size of these…

 

 

and these are not strictly pictures at all…by Lauri Hopkins (a graduate a couple weeks back from the University of Chichester) would have been poo pooed by me and most of my fellow students.  Nowadays I thought the work was terrific and every one of them is a product of construction only using the cloth book covers scoured from secondhand shops but put to superb effect in terms of colour and composition.

I love Terry’s pictures – and I’d like to think my ongoing series of very small pictures like ‘I Bet You Look Good On The Dance Floor’ (shown above) that I sold from our stand at the Supermarket Art Fair in Stockholm a couple years back, have some kind of affinity with his sensibility.  These really small (just a few inches or so) canvases sit around in the studio and have the odd mark added to them over quite long periods of time.  They have a very different ‘feel’ from the series I normally make where a great deal of deliberation goes into the conception and execution in a relatively contracted time frame.  I decided the first time I ever out one on a wall for public viewing (during a studio show a couple years back) that the title’s would all be song titles that commence with ‘I’ as an oblique comment on the highly personal nature of their origins and execution.

