Steel sculpture…that’s not far off being a painting…

I haven’t been able to locate any 70’s steel sculptures that Sam Cornish enquired of me following previous blogs on my time at the Ikon Gallery.  But yesterday I was at Chatsworth looking at Caro.  I do recall that Kenneth Noland (amongst others) was a profound influence on the younger Caro and it seemed to me when I saw the big retrospective at the Hayward back in the 70’s and again yesterday that many of his pieces over the years up to the 90’s are as much 3D paintings as sculpture ‘proper’ (don’t ask me about that one, I know what I mean!).  Some of the pieces were pretty stunning though the setting hardly worked for most of them.

Leave a Reply

