In Your Head and On The Wall

Image

I’m often surprised when my work goes on display in a gallery.  In my head I have pretty fixed ideas of what I imagine pictures will be and how they will be perceived by others whilst they are still in progress or just hanging around in the studio.  Yet sometimes when I go into a gallery and work has been hung by others…as is the case here in the current show at the Tarpey Gallery…I quite often have a brief moment of “did I really do that”.  Somehow it all looks rather alien and I find myself adjusting to it slowly.  This process can be a bit uncomfortable – you see things that you really hadn’t noticed before and wish you weren’t seeing now.  Little errors and blips that you can’t imagine you hadn’t spotted earlier.  But of course its too late – its out there now and nothing to be done until the show is over.

2 thoughts on “In Your Head and On The Wall

  1. I enjoyed the show ( I am sure that what you don’t like about it is visible only to you). I was wondering, do the circular paintings, that I think of as petre dishes (?) have a correct way up?

Leave a Reply

