Image

Driving through the Alsace coming back from our Easter break in Italy I was listening to Mark Knopfler singing ‘Brothers In Arms’.  I know its corny and uncool to admit to loving this but I don’t care…love it I do.  And it reminded me a good deal of the view from Sue’s terrace in Verpiana…where there’s this terrific view of the Apuane Alps where the marble is quarried and thus the whiteness you see is marble not snow.  I know the telegraph wires get in the way but what the hell we are in a small village in the middle of a yard in a working place not some posh retreat or hotel but I think that makes it so much more special.  Getting away for a few days (we were only able to be there for seven as the journey by car takes two days each way) helps clear your thinking and inspires new ideas.

