A Day Out

Yesterday was a day out.  The main purpose was to visit the exhibition – Mondrian & Nicholson in Parallel @ the Courtauld.  It was, as expected, a superb show on a scale that is immensely satisfying (I find big blockbusters far too much nowadays) and allowed one to really examine both the individual works and assess the inter-relationships between these two in that crucial two year period when they were working next door to one another.  So far so good.  We also took a trip around some of the galleries in the Piccadilly area…far less satisfactory truth be told.  Besides all the really cheesy stuff even some of the serious players seem to have lost some curatorial edge.  In particular I was troubled greatly by the work of Mary Heilmann.  I’d really only seen this in reproduction previously and thought it slight but playful, utilising that ‘casual’ aesthetic that has come to the fore over the last 15 or so years.  However in the flesh I struggled to find any truly meaningful interest in the work – is it me or is it just – well – not very good?  I’ve used the slight, the casual, even the purposefully slapdash and cack handed myself so I think I know that it can – and does – have its place but these works (and trust me I gave them a good going over) just seemed very indifferent.

On another tack my series continues apace – so much so that today I’ve spent as much time on other ideas as on their production.  I am thinking to make some other works that utilise figuration – possibly based on the occasional Hipstamatic images I make whilst out and about, such as the one posted here.

2 thoughts on “A Day Out

  1. Hi Andy,

    We are going to catch the Warwick show this week before it finishes…I’ll be sure to check it out – certainly the titled grids look better in repro. The recent work has very little in the way of grids…more layers but side by side rather than over one another…anyway see what you think…the two new Hauser & Wirth spaces are at the far end of Savile Row (from piccadilly) on the right. huge spaces with MH on one side and Michael Raedecker on the other… Their gallery on Piccadilly has seven big pictures by Joan Mitchell from her last days so three interesting and lively painting shows at the moment. bTW the Mondrian/Nicholson is smallish but perfectly formed!

Leave a Reply

